Looking at VA disability claims reviews

Looking at VA disability claims reviews
DoD photo by Petty Officer 1st Class Molly A. Burgess, U.S. Navy

Ian de Planque, American Legion assistant director for Claims Service, testified March 24 before the House Disability and Memorial Affairs Subcommittee on "Examination of VA Regional Office Disability Claims Quality Review Methods."

The American Legion's testimony centered around VA's Systematic Technical Accuracy Review (STAR) process and ways to improve it. In specific, The American Legion recommends compiling an aggregate record of common errors found through STAR, as well as through the Appeals Management Center, Board of Veterans' Appeals and the Court of Appeals for veterans' Claims to determine trends and deficiencies within VA; utilizing the aggregate record to tailor a targeted training program to correct the common errors and deficiencies; and establishing outside oversight by an impartial third party to ensure compliance with the corrective measures.

"Under the provisions of Public Law 110-389, the Veterans' Benefits Improvement Act of 2008, the VA secretary is to contract with an independent entity to conduct, over a three-year period, an assessment of the VA quality assurance program. In addition, the VA secretary is to report the entity's findings and conclusions to Congressde Planque wrote in his submitted testimony. The American Legion looks forward to this report, but would encourage VA to aggressively strive for marked improvements in accuracy before, during and after this mandated assessment. The American Legion is confident that VA is capable of internal improvement. There is sufficient information now to begin making STAR work the way it should for VA employees and veterans.

More in Veterans Benefits Center

 

Craig Lavallee

February 8, 2014 - 12:40pm

Department of Veterans Affairs 1240 E Ninth St Cleveland Ohio 44199 File Number 305-64-4180 Payee NO.00 C S LAVAL “Cleveland Regional Office of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs is one of the slowest in the nation” Nesnet5 My VA Disability claim is 201 days old. The VA is now waiting for my personal trauma records from NPRC - VA dated August 22 2013. 24 weeks and counting. I filed for Multiple sclerosis and NOT PERSONAL TRAUMA. MS has nothing to due with personal trauma!!!! Incompetence!! I provided the VA my DD214, all of my personal medical records and my 1st MRI. I was diagnosed with MS in 1996 and honorable discharged in 1991 - 6 years after leaving the service. I have had MS for over 18 years and this is the first time I have asked for benefits. It appears that someone in the VA Center Cleveland Ohio saw my MS claim as an MST (Military Sexual Trauma) claim. This is incorrect. The VA - "If an individual had symptoms of MS in the military, or within seven years after honorable discharge, he or she may be eligible for service-connected disability. The VA details "Service-Connected Benefits for Multiple Sclerosis (MS): MS is a presumptive condition and benefits are based on the presumption that the disability is service-connected (SC). Veterans with symptoms of MS in the military or within seven years after honorable discharge may be eligible for SC disability. eBenefits is not updated What Do We Still Need From You? Your Attention is Needed Your Authorization and Consent to Release Information to the VA from did not contain an address or contained an incorrect address. Please tell us the address of , so we can request medical information. You may want to obtain and send us the information yourself.
Date Requested: 11/18/2013 Due Date: 12/19/2013 
For now, we are waiting for your response to this letter. What we need from you is outlined in the section below. When we receive your response, we can take further action on your claim.
Date Requested: 11/18/2013 Due Date: 12/19/2013 What Do We Still Need From Others? This is a list of all items that have been requested from 3rd parties. Items From Date Requested Due Date Follow-Up Dates Requested service treatment records. 08/03/2013 09/02/2013 Requested entire service personnel file. 08/03/2013 09/02/2013 According to eBenefits nothing has been accomplished with my claim even though you letter dated Jan 21 2014 states “We are still processing your application for COMPENSATION.” Requested information is all past due. I have uploaded all necessary information to eBenefits and you have received all information from NPRC except “Personal Trauma” records Your attention to this matter is greatly appreciated.

IRISHHAMMER

March 27, 2010 - 1:54pm

THE VA WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE THIS FINALIZE THE NEW DISEASE CAUSED BY AGENT ORANGE BACK IN OCT. BY NOW, BUT WHAT DO WE HAVE MORE, MORE HURRY UP AND WAIT SHIT. IN THE MEAN TIME VETERANS ARE DYING FROM THESE DISEASE AND THEY WILL NEVER RECEIVED WHAT IS DUE TO THEM, VA THINKING IS THE LONGER WE STALL MORE OF THEM WILL PASS AWAY AND SAVE THEM MONEY NOT THINKING OR CARING WHAT THE VETERAN AND HIS FAMILY ARE GOING THROUGH. WHAT IS THE HOLDUP ? WHAT CAN WE DO ABOUT IT ?

loaded9

March 27, 2010 - 6:56am

AS A VICTIM OF THE REVIEW PROCESS,IM WONDERING WHY APPROVED CLAIMS ARENT REVIEWED WHEN THEY ARE APPROVED. MY CLAIM APPROVED IN JAN 2003 , AND AGAIN APPROVED IN MARCH 2003 TO INCLUDE UNEMPLOYABILITY,AND RULED PERMANENT AND TOTAL, HAS BEEN REVIEWED,AND RULED A MISTAKE AND NOW THE COMPENSATION I WAS GETTING FOR THE LAST 7 YEARS IS NOW DOWN FROM 100% TO 60%, AND SINCE THE REGIONAL OFFICE SAYS THERE WAS AN OVERPAYMENT I KNOW HAVE A DEBT TO THE V.A...WHERES THE JUSTICE FOR A 21 YR VETERAN, CRIPPLED BY BACK AND SHOULDER INJURIES, IF THE VA'S CASE OF IT BEING A MISTAKE IS CORRECT, WHY WASNT IT CORRECTED 7 YRS AGO, BEFORE MY FAMILY AND I STARTED USING THE 100% BENEFITS,( CHAMPVA HEALTH INS, DEPENDENTS EDUCATION, ETC,)HAD SOMEONE DONE THEIR JOB CORRECTLY,I WOULDNT HAVE TO FILE FOR BANKRUPTCY TODAY AND MOVE MY FAMILY INCLUDING MY SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD INTO A HOMELESS SHELTER BECAUSE THE V.A. WISHES TO TAKE WHAT I HAVE BEEN GETTING AND BILL ME FOR AN OVERPAY! OTHER THAN SUICIDE WHAT DO I DO

MPvet84

April 1, 2010 - 12:44pm

I hear your concerns, lately the VA has been very aggressive and stubborn towards veterans... especially at my local hospital. I don't know if you already know this or if this will help, but Senator Carl Levin is a Michigan Senator who happens to be the chairman of VA affairs. He is gunho for vets and I highly recommend that you contact him. I have contacted him a few times regarding complaints about my local hospital and has even opened an investigation regarding my complaints. If you have email access... email him with your concerns and he will definitely contact you back. It seems like you have a legitimate complaint and I wish you the best of luck.

Add new comment

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

Tell us what you think