2017 American Legion Baseball All-Academic Team announced

During the 2017 American Legion World Series in Shelby, N.C. the annual All-Academic Team was announced. The team is sponsored by Diamond Sports, a leading manufacturer in baseball merchandise and the official baseball used during Legion national tournaments.

In order for a player to be eligible, he or she must be nominated by his or her post-affiliated team manager or head coach to the department baseball committee. Each department's baseball committee has reviewed submitted applications and selected an overall state winner to receive a $500 scholarship.

The state winners have been reviewed by the World Series Scholarship Committee comprised of Legionnaires and academic representatives.

Each player on the team receives a $2,500 scholarship. An overall top academic player is named the team captain and awarded a $5,000 scholarship.

The winners are:

Team Captain: Trace Henry - Tupelo, Miss. - Post 49

Luke Johnson - East Haddam, Conn. - Post 156

Antonio Balducci - Mechanicsville, Va. - Post 175

Jackson Graham - Wilmington, N.C. - Post 10

Austin Dill - Cape Girardeau, Mo. - Post 63

Anthony Ebensperger - Plum City, Wis. - Post 365

Chase Konert - Alma, Neb. - Post 118

Jarett Hamby, Rock Springs, Wyo. - Post 24

Marcus Alexander - Warwick, R.I. - Post 43