Legion College under way Oct. 28

From Oct. 28 - Nov. 2, 55 Legionnaires representing 35 departments will convene at The American Legion National Headquarters in Indianapolis for the annual Legion National College.

Legion College is an opportunity for new Legionnaires to learn about the organization’s Four Pillars, its overall mission and the many leadership opportunities available at the post, district and department level. It, too, is a chance for longtime Legionnaires to refresh their Legion knowledge and share best practices.

Throughout the six-day program, attendees will hear from national staff within American Legion divisions, such as Americanism, Legislative, Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation and Internal Affairs & Membership. Included in the curriculum are instructions on how to write a resolution, develop communication strategies to promote Legion programs and small group sessions that will challenge students to think creatively about Legion issues, such as post revitalization efforts, membership drives and more.

Learn more about Legion College and its history by visiting www.legion.org/college.

The following is a list of the 55 Legion College students:

Alabama: Jeremy B. Blevins

Arizona: Dr. Roland J. L’Heureux, Keith A. Brown

California: Harry M. Woods, Dennis E. Radcliffe

Colorado: Terri L. Shelefontiuk, Thomas Florez

Connecticut: Allen G. Iott, Thomas P. Wood

Florida: Micheal J. Seidel, Terrence S. Briggs

Georgia: Deborah S. Kessler

Illinois: Michelle M. Aaron, Michael D. Vance, Erik J. Gerischer

Indiana: Gail A. Galich, Bridget A. Robinson, Buzz T. Smith, Charles W. Graybiel

Iowa: Alvin C. Miller, James H. Peterson

Kansas: Clark E. Conaway

Kentucky: Toni N. Cory, James A. Lish

Louisiana: James A. Jackson

Maine: Russell E. Wrede

Michigan: James E. Wallace, Mark A. Sutton

Missouri: Gayle L. Langan

Montana: George Blackard

Nebraska: Jennifer L. Salak, David W. Salak

Nevada: Yvette L. Weigold

New Hampshire: Daniel S. Yoder, Lisa Buck-Rogers

New Jersey: Joseph S. Imperato

New Mexico: Dwayne S. Fleming, Donald R. Harrison

New York: Stanley B. Grela, Jerome L. Rice

North Carolina: Norman L. Mullinax

North Dakota: David A. Johnson

Oregon: Keegan D. Hodges, Phyllis P. York

Puerto Rico: Angel O. Narvaez

Rhode Island: Michael W. Reed

South Dakota: John E. Harper

Tennessee: Leroy L. McCaul Jr.

Texas: Kimberly A. Biggerstaff

Virginia: David M. Stein

Washington: James R. Lohr II, Gail F. Porter

West Virginia: Brian Tolstyka

Wisconsin: Mary C. Lloyd, Daniel J. Seehafer