Riders appointed to National Advisory Committee

The American Legion has announced the appointments of The American Legion Riders National Advisory Committee to the Internal Affairs Commission. The committee members have extensive leadership experience with mainstream American Legion and American Legion Rider activities, and were appointed by National Commander Dan Dellinger during the National Executive Committee meetings in October.

The ALR National Advisory Committee is a committee reporting to the Internal Affairs Commission. Riders appointed each year to the committee represent The American Legion Rider community for all matters referred to the Internal Affairs Commission regarding The American Legion Riders. The Internal Affairs Commission in turn makes recommendations to the National Executive Committee or to delegates at national conventions on resolutions submitted from the various departments on any matter related to The American Legion Riders.

Committee members also act as regional sources of information and guidance for departments and posts interested in forming ALR programs of their own.

"I am pleased to welcome the committee to our commission," said Larry J. Besson, the chairman of The American Legion’s National Internal Affairs Commission. "They will bring extensive knowledge of The American Legion Riders’ structure, history, unique challenges and vision to National Headquarters, as well as outstanding expertise and demonstrated personal leadership."

The members of the National American Legion Riders Advisory Committee are:

Terry Woodburn (Ill.), chairman

Thomas "T.J." Haynes (Texas), vice chairman

David Gough (Wis.) Central Region

Mark Clark (Mo.) Midwest Region

John Moffitt (Ariz.) Western Region

Mike Kirchoff (Fla.) Southeast Region

Bob Sussan (Va.) East Region

Jackie Evonsion (Conn.) Northeast Region

Bill Kaledas (Mich.) consultant

For contact information, click here.