Four Legionnaires are Race to the Top winners

The American Legion District Commander Race to the Top Award is given to district commanders who attain at least 100 percent of the district’s assigned membership objective by March 31.

The winners, along with a guest, have won an all-expense paid trip to Charlotte during this year's national convention as a distinguished guest of National Commander Daniel M. Dellinger. The trip includes round-trip airfare, tickets to the National Commander's Banquet, and hotel accommodations for six days and five nights. The winning district commanders also will receive a Legion cap that signifies they are a Race-to-the-Top winner. Post ribbons will also be awarded to each top district commander for all American Legion posts in those districts.

There was not a category four winner for the 2013-2014 membership year. The winners in their respective district categories are:

  • Category I - 15 - 1,4999 members: Johnny Camacho, Department of Colorado
  • Category II - 1,500 -2,999 members: Michael Hughes, Department of California
  • Category III - 3,000 - 4,999 members: Dean Casey, Department of Colorado
  • Category V - 7,500 and above members: Thomas Biddle, Department of Florida