Four Legionnaires are Race to the Top winners

Four American Legion district commanders will be honored on stage during the national convention in Charlotte, N.C., for winning their respective categories in the Race to the Top competition. The contest honors district commanders in five categories who attain at least 100 percent of the district's assigned membership objective by March 31.

The winners, along with a guest, have won an all-expense paid trip to Charlotte during this year's national convention as a distinguished guest of National Commander Daniel M. Dellinger. The trip includes round-trip airfare, tickets to the National Commander's Banquet, and hotel accommodations for six days and five nights. The winning district commanders also will receive a Legion cap that signifies they are a Race to the Top winner. Post ribbons will also be awarded to each top district commander for all American Legion posts in those districts.

For the 2013-2014 membership year there was not a category four winner. The winning district commanders, along with their categories are:

Category I (districts with 15-1,499 members) - Johnny Camacho, Department of Colorado

Category II (districts with 1,500-2,999 members) - Michael Hughes, Department of California

Category III (districts with 3,000-4,999 members) - Dean Casey, Department of Colorado

Category V (districts with 7,500 or more members) - Thomas Biddle, Department of Florida