Which department is home to the most American Legion Baseball national champions?

California, which has produced 16 champions since the tournament began in 1926. Florida and Minnesota are tied for second with four each; and Louisiana and North Carolina are tied for third with three apiece. In all, 30 departments can call themselves the home of a national champion.
The eight teams that will compete for the 2012 championship have been determined (http://www.legion.org/baseball/211659/eight-teams-en-route-world-series). One team – the Northeast Division’s Milford, Conn., team sponsored by East Shore Post 196 – will be representing a department that has never won a Legion Baseball championship.