How many U.S. presidents have received the Legion’s Distinguished Service Medal?

Eleven. The highest honor of The American Legion has been bestowed on these men at various points in their lives and political careers.

1945: Dwight Eisenhower (before his presidency)

1945: Franklin D. Roosevelt (posthumously)

1949: Harry Truman (during his presidency)

1961: John Kennedy (during)

1965: Herbert Hoover (posthumously)

1968: Lyndon Johnson (during)

1969: Richard Nixon (during)

1980: Gerald Ford (after his presidency)

1982: Ronald Reagan (during)

1991: George H.W. Bush (during)

2008: George W. Bush (during)