(Photo by Eldon Lindsay)

Top 53 Oratorical contestants announced

The American Legion’s 2014 High School Oratorical Scholarship Program, "A Constitutional Speech Contest," will be held April 4-6 in Indianapolis at the Wyndham Indianapolis West hotel.

The contest will begin April 5 at 9:45 a.m. (EDT) with 53 high school students from across the country competing in the quarterfinals. The top nine contestants from the quarterfinals will advance to the semifinals at 3:15 p.m. During both sessions, the participants will present a rehearsed eight- to 10-minute oration on an aspect of the U.S. Constitution in front of judges, as well as a three- to five-minute speech on an assigned topic discourse — a phase of the Constitution selected from its Articles and Sections.

The top three semifinal winners will advance to the national championship finals on April 6 at 10 a.m. (EDT) for a chance to win first place and an $18,000 scholarship. Second place receives a $16,000 scholarship, and third place receives a $14,000 scholarship. Watch a live streaming of the championship finals on www.legiontv.org.

The following is a list of the 53 students competing in The American Legion's National Oratorical Contest:

  • Abigail Hagel of Wetumpka, Ala.

  • Sierra Smith of Anchorage, Alaska

  • Chetan Bafna of Somerton, Ariz.

  • Caitlyn Crowder of Heber Springs, Ark.

  • Isaac Taylor of El Cajon, Calif.

  • Ellen Densmore of Denver

  • Phoebe Petrovic of Centerbrook, Conn.

  • Naman Patel of Bear, Del.

  • Emmanuel Lee of Washington, D.C.

  • Elizabeth Barahona of Orlando, Fla.

  • Ruth Alvarez of France

  • Renee Dodson of Fayetteville, Ga.

  • Jianwu Huang of Honolulu

  • Esther Frederick of Meridian, Idaho

  • Sarvasva Raghuvanshi of Naperville, Ill.

  • Jana Minich of Lafayette, Ind.

  • Emma Skahill of Earlham, Iowa

  • James Davis of Newton, Kan.

  • Megan Armstrong of Morehead, Ky.

  • Gabrielle Lewis of Opclousas, La.

  • Emma Schalk of Sabattus, Maine

  • Alla Abdelwahab of Salisbury, Md.

  • Nicholas Terranova of North Andover, Mass.

  • Kaylee Tegethoff of Bloomingdale, Mich.

  • Caroline Donaldson of Eden Prairie, Minn.

  • Solomon Brown of Greenwood, Miss.

  • Ashwath Kumar of Columbia, Mo.

  • Jackson Smith of Missoula, Mont.

  • Allegra Hardin of David City, Neb.

  • Ross Hatley of Gardnerville, Nev.

  • Zachary Letourneau of Dublin, N.H.

  • Andrew Bambrick of Hammonton, N.J.

  • Daniel Ahrens of Los Alamos, N.M.

  • Andrew Hartnett of Cobleskill, N.Y.

  • Jacob McHugh of Charlotte, N.C.

  • Samantha Goerger of Wyndmere, N.D.

  • Jakob Puckett of Blanchester, Ohio

  • Jornell Whigham of Lawton, Okla.

  • Sarah Aldrich of Mulino, Ore.

  • Brandon Posner of Doylestown, Penn.

  • Abigail Matthew of Mayaguez, Puerto Rico

  • Gabrielle Viens of Barrington, R.I.

  • Sarah Foster of Goose Creek, S.C.

  • Esther Swift of Burke, S.D.

  • Rachel Tuck of Lafayette, Tenn.

  • Amber Bell of Austin, Texas

  • Morgan Ewing of Salt Lake City

  • Hannah Hatch of Vergennes, Vt.

  • Hayley Snowden of McLean, Va.

  • Cady Crosby of Burlington, Wash.

  • Lauren Spears of Elkins, W.Va.

  • Astha Berry of Franklin, Wis.

  • Zariah Tolman of Otto, Wyo.