1984, "Real People"

George J. Schlatter, executive producer of the NBC series, accepted the award on behalf of his show and network. Schlatter used his speech to urge Legionnaires to write to all the different media platforms, to advocate a more balanced and respectful representation of American veterans.
For more information about the program, click here (http://www.emmytvlegends.org/interviews/shows/real-people).

1983, Eunice Kennedy Shriver

The founder and president of Special Olympics was hospitalized and unable to accept her award. Her husband, Sargent Shriver, did so on her behalf. Local Legion posts were heavily involved with Special Olympics from the beginning.
For more information on Shriver, click here (http://www.eunicekennedyshriver.org/bios/eks).

1982, Sarah McClendon

The columnist, White House correspondent and World War II veteran (in the Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps) was honored for her long-standing commitment to transparency between the government and the press. McClendon was a member of the National Press Club Legion post.
For more information on McClendon, click here (http://library.uttyler.edu/documents/mcclendon/biography.html).

1981, "Meet the Press"

The longest-running TV series in American history was honored for reflecting during its programs the Legion’s own commitment to free speech, debate and presenting all sides of an issue. Producer Betty Cole Dukert and producer/moderator Bill Monroe accepted the award on behalf of their show.
For more information on the program, click here (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3403008/ns/meet_the_press-about_us/?ns=meet_...).

1980, Paul "Bear" Bryant

The longtime head football coach at the University of Alabama was honored for helping his young players demonstrate positive qualities such as hard work, dedication, sacrifice and self-worth.
For more information on Bryant, click here (http://www.biography.com/articles/Bear-Bryant-9229938).

1979, James H. Webb Jr.

A highly decorated Vietnam War Marine veteran, former staffer with the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee, and faculty member at (his alma mater) the U.S. Naval Academy, Webb was presented with the award after writing “Fields of Fire,” a novel about several Marines serving during Vietnam.
For more information about Webb, click here (http://bioguide.congress.gov/scripts/biodisplay.pl?index=W000803).

1978, Stanley Roger "Stan" Smith

The world-ranked pro tennis star was honored for his contributions to both Southern California and national youth programs.
For more information on Smith, click here (http://www.tennisfame.com/hall-of-famers/stan-smith).

1977, Karl Malden

The Oscar-winning movie and TV actor served in World War II, during which he performed in the Army Air Forces booster play and film “Winged Victory.”
For more information on Malden, click here (http://karlmalden.com/).

1976, National Association of Broadcasters

President (and World War II bomber pilot) Vincent Wasilewski accepted the award on behalf of the group, for its production and widespread airing of the patriotic album “Sing Out America” during the Bicentennial period.
For more information about the NAB, click here (http://www.nab.org/about/default.asp).

1975, Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson

Claudia “Lady Bird” Johnson, former first lady of the United States, was presented with the award for her efforts toward the cleanup and beautification of American highways during her time in the White House. The Legion also presented Johnson with a $500 check to help develop a Bicentennial project – a memorial grove along the Potomac River for LBJ, who had died in 1973.
For more information on Johnson, click here (http://ladybirdjohnsontribute.org/biography.htm).