Indianapolis community honors its active-duty military and veterans

Hundreds attended the 45th Annual Veterans Day Reception and Banquet in Indianapolis on Nov. 11, including active-duty military, veterans, representatives of veterans service groups, civic organizations and area citizens. The event was sponsored by the Veterans Day Council of Indianapolis and Wal-Mart.

The evening reception and banquet capped off a day of activities honoring and remembering the men and women who are serving and who have served our country. A memorial service was held at the World War Memorial, followed by a parade. An afternoon event at Crown Hill Cemetery honored those who gave their lives to protect America and its way of life.

Among the many awards presented at the banquet was the Pro Patria Award for Employer Support to the National Guard and Reserve. Two recipients were recognized - the Indiana Department of Corrections and Avery Dennison.

The Francis Polen Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to Veterans was presented to Mildred Oberhardt. The Dr. John Morton-Finney Award for Public Service was given to P. E. MacAllister, while Patrick Shannon received the Sponsor Award.

Luke Curry of Troop 341 received the Walter J. Schuchmann Boy Scout Leadership Award and Kaylee Shirrell of Troop 63 received the Dr. Corinne White Walker Girl Scout Leadership Award.

Twenty-one Military Achievement awards were presented by Raytheon Technical Services Company. Other awards were presented to Junior ROTC marching units, Junior ROTC Scholarship recipients and parade winners.

Samuel R. Graves served as master of ceremonies. Pearl Harbor survivor Paul Kennedy led the Pledge of Allegiance, and Edward L. Harris, Jr. conducted the benediction. Entertainment for the evening was provided by "Straight no Chaser", a cappella men's group from Indiana University.