Legion Player of the Year honored in N.Y.

On June 20, Tyler Jacobson from Oneida, Wis., traveled to Cooperstown, N.Y., to receive his George W. Rulon American Legion Baseball Player of the Year award during a Baseball Hall of Fame game.

Jacobson, who played Legion ball for Mixtacki-Johnson Post 337 of Pulaski, Wis., was acknowledged as the George W. Rulon American Legion Baseball Player of the Year this past January during the Wisconsin American Legion Department Conference. As a recipient of the distinguished award, Jacobson received a $3,500 scholarship from the Legion and a free pass to attend the 2010 Baseball Hall of Fame games.

The award was presented to Jacobson by National Vice Commander and Maryland resident Gordon Browning and Baseball Hall of Fame Senior Vice President Bill Haase, during a presentation at the bottom of the second inning of the game, which involved Major League Baseball (MLB) alumni. After receiving his award, Jacobson not only walked off the field with applause from the crowd but with autographs from famous MLB alums. One signature came from Osbourne “Ozzie” Smith from the St. Louis Cardinals — one of the greatest shortstops to ever play the game.

The George W. Rulon Player of the Year is presented annually to eligible Legion baseball players. It pays tribute to George W. Rulon, the national staff coordinator who operated American Legion Baseball for 25 years. Legion team managers or coaches can recognize a player by filling out an application and submitting it to their department (state) baseball headquarters, which reviews all nominees and identifies a top candidate. During the Legion Baseball World Series, a committee reviews each state’s top candidate for award consideration.


By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.