Becky Burch

Baseball regionals to be held in 8 cities

The 2010 American Legion Baseball season is in full swing, and players are stepping up to home plate in hopes of winning their way to regionals and then on to the World Series.

Eight cities across the United States have been selected to host their division's baseball regional tournaments, which take place Aug. 5-9. Below is a list of each division's hosting city for regionals along with the name of the playing field.

Northeast Division (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Vermont)Pomfret Stadium at Palmer Field Middletown, Conn.

Southeast Division (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Puerto Rice, South Carolina, Tennessee) Dave Hall Field - Columbia State Community CollegeColumbia, Tenn.

Central Plains Division (Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota,)Hidden Vally Park Blue Springs, Mo.

Northwest Division (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, Wyoming)Patterson Baseball Complex - Washington Trust Field Spokane, Wash.

Mid-Atlantic Division (Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia)Owls Field at Ted Palka Park West Lawn, Pa.

Great Lakes Division (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin)Grimes Field Mattoon, Ill.

Mid-South Division (Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas)AirHogs Quik Trip Park Grand Prairie, Texas

Western Division (Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)Wilson Stadium at the University of Nevada Las Vegas Las Vegas