American Legion Baseball to honor fan-selected All-Centennial Team

American Legion Baseball to honor fan-selected All-Centennial Team

Through fan voting, American Legion Baseball will be honoring the greatest players from the first 100 years of The American Legion, which celebrated its centennial on March 15.

Fans can vote online at for the team.

A total of 85 nominees, including all of the 78 former American Legion Baseball players inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame as players or coaches, were presented to the American Legion Baseball Committee, which pared the list down to 60 for a fan vote.

Fans can vote for as many or as few players as they see fit for their ballot.

The finalists are as follows:

Catchers: Johnny Bench, Yogi Berra, Gary Carter, Carlton Fisk, Mike Piazza, Iván Rodríguez

First Basemen: Jeff Bagwell, Harmon Killebrew, Albert Pujols, Eddie Murray, Willie Stargell, Jim Thome

Second Basemen: Roberto Alomar, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Ryne Sandberg

Shortstops: Barry Larkin, Pee Wee Reese, Alan Trammell, Robin Yount

Third Basemen: Wade Boggs, George Brett, Chipper Jones, Eddie Mathews, Brooks Robinson

Outfielders: Barry Bonds, Tony Gwynn, Reggie Jackson, Al Kaline, Ralph Kiner, Stan Musial, Frank Robinson, Ted Williams, Dave Winfield, Carl Yastrzemski

Starting Pitchers: Bert Blyleven, Jim Bunning, Steve Carlton, Roger Clemens, Don Drysdale, Bob Feller, Bob Gibson, Roy Halladay, Greg Maddux, Phil Niekro, Jim Palmer, Gaylord Perry, Tom Seaver, Warren Spahn, Justin Verlander

Relief Pitchers: Rollie Fingers, Trevor Hoffman, Lee Smith, Bruce Sutter, Hoyt Wilhelm

Coaches: Sparky Anderson, Bobby Cox, Tony LaRussa, Joe Torre, Earl Weaver

The 25 remaining nominees, considered honorable mentions to the team are, by position: Roy Campanella, Don Mattingly, Bobby Doerr, Nellie Fox, Joe Gordon, Lou Boudreau, George Kell, Ron Santo, Richie Ashburn, Harold Baines, Bryce Harper, Joe Medwick, Tim Raines, Jim Rice, Tom Glavine, Catfish Hunter, Bob Lemon, Jack Morris, Mike Mussina, Hal Newhouser, Robin Roberts, Max Scherzer, Early Wynn, Whitey Herzog and Dick Williams

Voting is available at