Seager receives Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year award

Seager receives Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year award

Texas Rangers shortstop Corey Seager received his 2023 American Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year Award prior to the Rangers’ game against the Los Angeles Angels on Aug. 16.

The American Legion annually honors a former American Legion Baseball player who is currently playing in the Major Leagues for his character, leadership, playing abilities and community service. Individuals are recommended by their respective post.

Seager played American Legion Baseball for Post 115 in Kannapolis, N.C.

National Vice Commander Patricia Harris and Department of North Carolina Baseball Chairman Mark Cauble presented Seager the award in a pregame ceremony.

Seager is batting .346 with 23 home runs and 74 RBIs this season for the first-place Rangers despite missing 31 games early in the season with a left hamstring strain, then nine more games in July with a sprained right thumb. He was a starter for the American League in the July 11 All-Star Game in Seattle, his fourth All-Star selection.

American Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year Award winners

2023: Corey Seager (Post 115, Kannapolis, N.C.)

2022: Brandon Woodruff (Post 49, Tupelo, Miss.)

2021: Jacob deGrom (Post 3, Deland, Fla.)

2020: no award

2019: Neil Walker (Post 548, Gibsonia, Pa.)

2018: Brian Duensing (Post 374, Omaha, Neb.)

2017: Brian Dozier (Post 49, Tupelo, Miss.)

2016: Cliff Lee (Benton, Ark.)

2015: Alex Gordon (Post 3, Lincoln, Neb.)

2014: Michael Cuddyer (Post 280, Chesapeake, Va.)

2013: Chad Billingsley (Post 300, Napoleon, Ohio)

2012: Mark Ellis (Post 22, Rapid City, S.D.)

2011: Corey Hart (Kentucky)

2010: Brandon Inge (Lynchburg, Va.)

2009: Lyle Overbay (Post 15, Centralia, Wash.)

2008: Justin Verlander (Post 201, Powhatan, Va.)

2007: Chris Carpenter (Post 79, Manchester, N.H.)

2006: Albert Pujols (Post 340, Independence, Mo.)

2005: Scott Rolen (Jasper, Ind.)

2004: Darin Erstad (Jamestown, N.D.)

2003: Jeff Bagwell (Post 75, Middletown, Conn.)

2002: Luis Gonzalez (Post 248, Tampa, Fla.)

2001: Todd Stottlemyre (Washington)

2000: Chipper Jones (Post 6, Deland, Fla.)

1999: Steve Finley (Post 31, Paducah, Ky.)

1998: Tony Gwynn (Post 27, Long Beach, Calif.)

1997: Mo Vaughn (Norwalk, Conn.)

1996: Paul Molitor (Post 606, St. Paul, Minn.)

1995: Bob Tewksbury (New Hampshire)

1994: Greg Maddux (Post 8, Las Vegas, Nev.)

1993: Bill Swift (Portland, Maine)

1992: Terry Steinbach (Post 132, New Ulm, Minn.)

1991: Sid Bream (Carlisle, Pa.)

1990: Harold Reynolds (Post 11, Corvallis, Ore.)

1989: Alan Trammell (San Diego, Calif.)

1988: Roger Clemens (Spring Woods, Ohio)

1987: Don Mattingly (Evansville, Ind.)

1986: Dale Murphy (Portland, Ore.)

1985: Jeff Reardon (Dalton, Mass.)

1984: Ryne Sandberg (Spokane, Wash.)

1983: Andre Thornton (Phoenixville, Pa.)

1982: Jim Sundberg (Galesburg, Ill.)

1981: Gary Carter (Fullerton, Calif.)

1980: George Brett (El Segundo, Calif.)

1979: Mike Flanagan (Post 2, Manchester, N.H.)

1978: Ron Guidry (Lafayette, La.)

1977: Dave Winfield (Post 606, St. Paul, Minn.)

1976: Rick Monday (Post 123, Santa Monica, Calif.)

1975: Carlton Fisk (Post 37, Bellows Falls, Vt.)

1974: Wilbur Wood (Post 99, Watertown, Mass.)

1973: Johnny Bench (Anadarko, Okla.)

1972: Al Kaline (Baltimore, Md.)

1971: Steve Carlton (Miami, Fla.)

1970: Dave McNally (Post 4, Billings, Mont.)

1969: Harmon Killebrew (Payette, Idaho)

1968: Mickey Lolich (Post 102, Portland, Ore.)

1967: Carl Yastrzemski (Bridgehampton, N.Y.)

1966: Frank Robinson (Post 237, Pleasanton, Calif.)

1965: Eddie Fisher (Oklahoma)

1964: Brooks Robinson (Post 1, North Little Rock, Ark.)

1963: Warren Spahn (Buffalo, N.Y.)

1962: Bobby Richardson (Sumter, S.C.)

1961: Stan Musial (Donora, Pa.)

1960: Ted Williams (San Diego, Calif.)

1958: Sherm Lollar (Arkansas)


American Legion Baseball

American Legion Baseball

American Legion Baseball enjoys a reputation as one of the most successful and tradition-rich amateur athletic leagues. Today, the program registers more than 5,400 teams in all 50 states, including Canada and Puerto Rico.

Learn more