Diamondbacks’ Sewald named Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year
Paul Sewald was the 2008 James F. Daniel Sportsmanship Award winner and is the 2024 American Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year.

Diamondbacks’ Sewald named Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year

Arizona Diamondbacks closer Paul Sewald is the 2024 American Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year.

Sewald played American Legion Baseball for Post 76 in Las Vegas, Nev., and was part of the 2008 American Legion World Series (ALWS) championship team that won a record 75 games. Sewald also was that season’s James F. Daniel Jr. Sportsmanship Award recipient. The award, named in honor of the late chairman of the Legion’s Americanism Commission, is presented annually to an ALWS participant who best embodies the principles of good sportsmanship.

Sewald is in his first full season with the Diamondbacks after being traded from Seattle on July 31, 2023. Arizona reached the 2023 World Series as a wild card, with Sewald going 1-0 with six saves in the postseason. He entered 2024 with 68 saves and a 19-23 record in seven seasons with the New York Mets, Seattle Mariners and Arizona. After beginning the season on the injured list with a strained left oblique, Sewald made his 2024 regular season debut on Tuesday, pitching 1 inning of relief in Arizona’s 6-2 win at Cincinnati.

Sewald and his wife, Molly, have teamed with the Arizona Diamondbacks Foundation and Child Crisis to continue Sewald’s Strikeouts 4 Kids to provide children in Arizona a safe environment, free from abuse and neglect, by creating strong and successful families. For each strikeout during the Diamondbacks’ 2024 season, the Sewalds have pledged to donate to Child Crisis to support family programs that directly benefit those in need.

Sewald will officially receive the Graduate of the Year Award this summer.

About the American Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year Award

Each year The American Legion honors a former American Legion Baseball player who is currently playing in the Major Leagues for his character, leadership, playing abilities and community service. Individuals are recommended by their respective post.

Recipients of the award:

2023: Corey Seager (Post 115, Kannapolis, N.C.)

2022: Brandon Woodruff (Post 49, Tupelo, Miss.)

2021: Jacob deGrom (Post 3, Deland, Fla.)

2020: no award

2019: Neil Walker (Post 548, Gibsonia, Pa.)

2018: Brian Duensing (Post 374, Omaha, Neb.)

2017: Brian Dozier (Post 49, Tupelo, Miss.)

2016: Cliff Lee (Benton, Ark.)

2015: Alex Gordon (Post 3, Lincoln, Neb.)

2014: Michael Cuddyer (Post 280, Chesapeake, Va.)

2013: Chad Billingsley (Post 300, Napoleon, Ohio)

2012: Mark Ellis (Post 22, Rapid City, S.D.)

2011: Corey Hart (Kentucky)

2010: Brandon Inge (Lynchburg, Va.)

2009: Lyle Overbay (Post 15, Centralia, Wash.)

2008: Justin Verlander (Post 201, Powhatan, Va.)

2007: Chris Carpenter (Post 79, Manchester, N.H.)

2006: Albert Pujols (Post 340, Independence, Mo.)

2005: Scott Rolen (Jasper, Ind.)

2004: Darin Erstad (Jamestown, N.D.)

2003: Jeff Bagwell (Post 75, Middletown, Conn.)

2002: Luis Gonzalez (Post 248, Tampa, Fla.)

2001: Todd Stottlemyre (Washington)

2000: Chipper Jones (Post 6, Deland, Fla.)

1999: Steve Finley (Post 31, Paducah, Ky.)

1998: Tony Gwynn (Post 27, Long Beach, Calif.)

1997: Mo Vaughn (Norwalk, Conn.)

1996: Paul Molitor (Post 606, St. Paul, Minn.)

1995: Bob Tewksbury (New Hampshire)

1994: Greg Maddux (Post 8, Las Vegas, Nev.)

1993: Bill Swift (Portland, Maine)

1992: Terry Steinbach (Post 132, New Ulm, Minn.)

1991: Sid Bream (Carlisle, Pa.)

1990: Harold Reynolds (Post 11, Corvallis, Ore.)

1989: Alan Trammell (San Diego, Calif.)

1988: Roger Clemens (Spring Woods, Texas)

1987: Don Mattingly (Evansville, Ind.)

1986: Dale Murphy (Portland, Ore.)

1985: Jeff Reardon (Dalton, Mass.)

1984: Ryne Sandberg (Spokane, Wash.)

1983: Andre Thornton (Phoenixville, Pa.)

1982: Jim Sundberg (Galesburg, Ill.)

1981: Gary Carter (Fullerton, Calif.)

1980: George Brett (El Segundo, Calif.)

1979: Mike Flanagan (Post 2, Manchester, N.H.)

1978: Ron Guidry (Lafayette, La.)

1977: Dave Winfield (Post 606, St. Paul, Minn.)

1976: Rick Monday (Post 123, Santa Monica, Calif.)

1975: Carlton Fisk (Post 37, Bellows Falls, Vt.)

1974: Wilbur Wood (Post 99, Watertown, Mass.)

1973: Johnny Bench (Anadarko, Okla.)

1972: Al Kaline (Baltimore, Md.)

1971: Steve Carlton (Miami, Fla.)

1970: Dave McNally (Post 4, Billings, Mont.)

1969: Harmon Killebrew (Payette, Idaho)

1968: Mickey Lolich (Post 102, Portland, Ore.)

1967: Carl Yastrzemski (Bridgehampton, N.Y.)

1966: Frank Robinson (Post 237, Pleasanton, Calif.)

1965: Eddie Fisher (Oklahoma)

1964: Brooks Robinson (Post 1, North Little Rock, Ark.)

1963: Warren Spahn (Buffalo, N.Y.)

1962: Bobby Richardson (Sumter, S.C.)

1961: Stan Musial (Donora, Pa.)

1960: Ted Williams (San Diego, Calif.)

1958: Sherm Lollar (Arkansas)

American Legion Baseball

American Legion Baseball

American Legion Baseball enjoys a reputation as one of the most successful and tradition-rich amateur athletic leagues. Today, the program registers more than 5,400 teams in all 50 states, including Canada and Puerto Rico.

Learn more