Which states have fared best in the ALWS?

Which states have fared best in the ALWS?

The state of California has clearly been the most successful in American Legion World Series history as the Golden State holds records for most titles (17), most runner-up finishes (8), most appearances (53), most wins (122) and most games (208).

California also has won three titles in a decade three different times, in the 1940s, 1960s and 1970s.

Other states with impressive ALWS resumes include Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oregon, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Washington.

Florida is an impressive 45-27 all-time in ALWS games, which gives them the fifth-most ALWS victories with five titles and one runner-up finish. The Sunshine State picked up two titles apiece in the 1980s and 1990s.

Illinois is 37-39 in 20 appearances in ALWS competition with three titles and six runner-up finishes. The Land of Lincoln also was the second state to win two titles in a decade with championships in 1931 and 1933; New York (1926 and 1929) was the first. 

Louisiana is tied for second in all-time wins (61) in addition to being third in ALWS appearances (27) and championship game appearances (11) and tied for third in titles (5). The Bayou State also was the first to get three runner-up finishes in a decade when it did so in the 1930s.

Minnesota is sixth in all-time wins (43) and tied for third in ALWS titles (5). The Land of 10,000 Lakes had five championship game appearances in a 10-year period in the 2000s, with titles in 2003 and 2011 and runner-up finishes in 2002, 2007 and 2010.

New Jersey is tied for second in all-time wins (61), tied for third in ALWS titles (5) and fourth in title game appearances. The Garden State also has had back-to-back titles from Brooklawn in 2013 and 2014 and back-to-back runner-up finishes by Trenton in 1945 and 1946.

Ohio is fourth in all-time wins (51), second in ALWS titles (7) and third in title game appearances. The Buckeye State also has seen one city, Cincinnati, win all of its ALWS championships among four Legion posts.

Oregon has one ALWS title and five runner-up finishes along with 40 ALWS victories. The Beaver State has sent teams to the ALWS in the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s, 2000s and 2010s.

North Carolina has four ALWS titles, six runner-up finishes and are fourth in ALWS championship game appearances. The Tar Heel State has sent teams to the ALWS every decade since the 1930s except for the current one.

Pennsylvania has won three ALWS titles and four runner-up finishes. The Keystone State was dominant in the 1980s when six teams advanced to the ALWS and Boyertown won the 1982 and 1987 championships.

Washington has three ALWS titles and six runner-up finishes with ALWS appearances in each decade from the 1970s to the 2010s.


American Legion Baseball

American Legion Baseball

American Legion Baseball enjoys a reputation as one of the most successful and tradition-rich amateur athletic leagues. Today, the program registers more than 5,400 teams in all 50 states, including Canada and Puerto Rico.

Learn more