Award recipients from 101st National Convention
Marine Corps Sgt. Anthony Marinelli before receiving his Spirit of Service Award. (Photo by Ben Mikesell/The American Legion)

Award recipients from 101st National Convention

Many awards are given out each year at the American Legion national convention. Below is the list of awards, and their recipients, from the 101st National Convention in Indianapolis in August.

Distinguished Service Medal: Sen. John McCain (posthumous)

Patriot Award: Mitch Daniels

National Law Enforcement Officer of the Year: Lt. (ret.) Jane Anderson

National Firefighter of the Year: Chief Jan K. Rader

Ralph T. O’Neil Education Trophy - For greatest activity in use of American Legion School Medal awards

Department of Vermont

Daniel J. O’Connor Americanism Trophy - For best all-around Americanism activities

Department of Virginia

National Recruiter of the Year: Charles T. “Abe” Abrahamson

Race to the Top winners - Given to district commanders who attain at least 100 percent of the district’s assigned membership objective by March 31

Richard F. Devlin III

Benjamin David Gibson

Stephen “Chris” Hamrick

Consolidated Post Report winners

Departments of Washington, Oregon, North Carolina, Kentucky, Colorado, Vermont, Nevada, West Virginia, Virginia, Ohio, Alaska, Maryland, Wyoming and Florida

Frank N. Belgrano Trophy - For support of Boy Scouts of America

Department of North Carolina

Garland D. Murphy Jr. Award - Based on actual contributions received during the 2018-2019 American Legion Child Welfare Foundation year

Department of Florida

U.S. “Udie” Grant Legacy Award - Based on total combined donations of American Legion Family to the Child Welfare Foundation

Department of Florida

Child Welfare Foundation Meritorious Achievement Award - Given for the highest increase in per-capita giving to the CWF

Department of Nevada

William F. Lenker National Service Trophy - For best supporting and implementing programs to benefit veterans and their families

Department of Colorado

Fourth Estate Awards

Broadcast: KNTV, San Francisco

Print: Cynthia Simison/The Republican, Springfield, Mass.

Internet: Oriana Pawlyk/

O.L. Bodenhamer Trophy - No. 1 in membership at June report

Department of Alabama

Employer of the Year - For companies and businesses dedicated to hiring veterans

Small Category: Bravehearts Therapeutic Riding & Education Center

Medium Category: HICAPS Inc.

Large Category: Grunt Styles, LLC

Employer of Older Workers Award: Workforce Connection-Wise Title V

Michael Guty Homeless Veterans Outreach Award: Robert Looby

Employment Service Local Office Award: Pikes Peak Workforce Center

Local Veterans Employment Representative of the Year: Osvaldo “Ozzie” Montalvo

Disabled Veterans Outreach Program Specialist of the Year: Mark Simmons

Color Guard Contests

Advancing/Retiring of Colors: Newport Harbor Post 291 (Newport Beach, Calif.)

Open Class: Shooting Stars Color Guard (Clay County Post 14, Flora, Ill.)

Military Class: Harrisburg Post 472 (Houston)

Military Class-Open: Department of Massachusetts Honor Guard

Band Contest

American Legion Band of the Tonawandas, sponsored by Post 264 of Tonawanda, N.Y.

Spirit of Service

Air Force Staff Sgt. Heather M. Carden

Army Sgt. Joshua R. Evans

Air National Guard Staff Sgt. Benjamin P. Forsberg

Marine Corps Sgt. Anthony K. Marinelli

Coast Guard Petty Officer 2nd Class Justin McMullen

Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Joseph B. McPhail