FODPAL awards presented, officers installed
American Legion Department of Puerto Rico Commander Carmen I. Rosario accepts the FODPAL award for membership growth at a breakfast Aug. 29 in Milwaukee.

FODPAL awards presented, officers installed

American Legion leaders from around the world gathered Monday, Aug. 29, in Milwaukee to honor outlying posts and departments – notably the Department of Puerto Rico’s organization-leading performance in membership growth – and to install new officers for the year ahead.

FODPAL – Foreign and Outlying Departments and Posts of The American Legion – consists of more than 15,000 American Legion members worldwide serving their communities through some 250 posts outside the continental United States. Also in FODPAL are American Legion departments with posts beyond the lower 48 states, such as Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Vermont, Washington and Montana.

The Department of Puerto Rico grew from 2,960 Legionnaires to 3,152 in the 2021-22 membership year, leading all departments nationwide, with 106.49% of target. Puerto Rico was among three FODPAL departments that ranked in the top six in membership growth last year.

 FODPAL awards for 2021-22:

-       Robert J. “Bob” Conrad Award for achieving the highest percentage increase in membership by a FODPAL department: Department of Puerto Rico

-  Joseph “Joe” Craig Award for achieving the highest percentage increase in membership by a FODPAL post: Expeditionary Post DR01, Department of Puerto Rico

-  FODPAL Appreciation Award for outstanding dedication and service to FODPAL and American Legion programs: John R. Rowe Post 17, Department of Hawaii

-  Distinguished Service Award: Hans Stockenberger, Department of France

-  Certificate of Appreciation: American Legion National Headquarters mailroom staff

Steve Huisman of the Department of Alaska was elected FODPAL president for the coming year, and Jim Grosset, commander of American Legion Post CN20 in Calgary, Alberta, was tabbed as first vice president.

Also installed were:

Francis Riddell, 2nd vice president, Hawaii

William Shetz, 3rd vice president, Mexico

James Settle, judge advocate, France

Larry Atkins, assistant judge advocate, China Post 1

Ramon Rivera, historian, Puerto Rico

Michael Napsey, assistant historian, Philippines

Terri Huisman, chaplain, Alaska

Randall Butler, assistant chaplain, Mexico

Juan Cruz, sergeant at arms, Puerto Rico

Tom Schley, assistant sergeant at arms, France

Jim Pisa, secretary, Alaska

Jimmie Foster, treasurer/nomination committee chairman, Alaska

Jim Van Horn, assistant treasurer, Alaska

Doug Haggan, breakfast chairman, France

G. Michael Schlee, nomination committee, Maryland

Tony Jordan, master of ceremonies/nomination committee, Maine