Award recipients from the 103rd National Convention
Spirit of Service Award Recipients onstage during the Day 1 of The American Legion 103rd National Convention at the Milwaukee Center in Milwaukee, Wis., on Tuesday, August 30. Photo by Hilary Ott/The American Legion

Award recipients from the 103rd National Convention

On stage and in meetings, numerous awards were given out during the national convention to individuals, companies and even American Legion departments.

Distinguished Service Medal Hon. David P. “Phil” Roe, M.D.

Patriot Award Quincy (Mass.) Sun

James V. Day “Good Guy” Award Bob Uecker

National Concert Band Contest Joliet (Ill.) American Legion Band

National Color Guard Contests Advancing/Retrieving Colors: Newport Harbor, Newport Beach, Calif., 93.20 Military: Newport Harbor, 92.85 Open: Harrisburg Post 472, Houston, 88.15

National Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Col. David R. Hines, Mechanicsville, Va.

National Firefighter of the Year Lt. Ryan Winkler, Charlotte, Iowa

Fourth Estate Broadcast: KHON2-TV, Honolulu/Pamela Young; Internet/New Media: Associated Press/Kristin M. Hall, James LaPorta and Justin Pritchard; Print: Milwaukee Journal Sentinel/Katelyn Ferral and Natalie Brophy

Spirit of Service Sgt. Katherine E. Chousa, Army National Guard Marine Science Technician 3rd Class Mason C. Couch, Coast Guard PFC Deanna Dixon, Army Sgt. Christina M. Gilman, Marine Corps Information Systems Technician 2nd Class Annie Holder, Navy Senior Airman Ariel L. Miranda, Air Force Spc. 4 Antonio A. Oros, Space Force

National Recruiter of the Year Patricia E. Liddell, Midland, Ga.

District Commander Race to the Top Award John T. Bettencourt, Somerset, Mass.; William Dittebrand, Willoughby, Ohio; Steven N. Ervin, Mason, Ohio; Betsy A. Law, Kettering, Ohio; Kenneth Simon, Plentywood, Mont.

100% Department Awards, Culture of Growth Awards Puerto Rico, Alaska, District of Columbia, Idaho, Mexico, Ohio, Rhode Island

Gen. Henri Gouraud Trophy Department of Ohio, Department of Puerto Rico

Department Commander of the Year Antonio Arroyo, Department of Puerto Rico; Michael E. Downs, Department of Alaska; David G. Singleton, Department of Rhode Island; Milo Vukovich, Department of Mexico (posthumous)

Second Century All-Time High Award Department of Mexico

All Target Dates Department of Puerto Rico

O.l. Bodenhamer Trophy Department of Puerto Rico

Consolidated Post Reporting Award Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Maryland, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Virginia

Disabled Veterans Outreach Program Employee of the Year Geraldine Perry, Milwaukee

Michael Guty Homeless Veterans Outreach Award American Legion Family of New Jersey Housing Our Heroes Program

Veterans Employment Awards 5X5 Brewing Co., Mission, Texas, small-employer category; ShurMed EMS, San Antonio, Texas, medium-employer category

Outstanding Employer of Older Workers Morris-Baker Funeral Home & Cremation Services, Johnson City, Tenn.

Outstanding Employment Service Local Office of the Year Workforce Solutions/Permian Basin, Odessa, Texas

Outstanding Employer of Enhancing the Lives of Disabled Persons Grace After Fire, Houston

National Education Award National Guard Youth Challenge Program

Daniel J. O’Connor Americanism Trophy Department of Virginia

Ralph T. O’Neil Trophy Department of South Carolina

Frank N. Belgrano Jr. Trophy Department of Missouri

CWF Garland Murphy Award Department of Pennsylvnia

CWF Udie Grant Legacy Award Department of Pennsylvania

CWF Meritorious Achievement Award Department of Alaska

CWF Excellence Award Department of Alaska

CWF Garland Murphy Award – Riders Department of Florida

CWF Udie Grant Legacy Award – Riders Department of Pennsylvania

William F. Lenker National Service Trophy – Department of Oregon