2023 national convention award recipients
(Photo by Jennifer Blohm/The American Legion)

2023 national convention award recipients

During the 104th American Legion National Convention in Charlotte, N.C., in August, a number of awards were presented to individuals, companies, groups and Legion departments in meetings, on the convention floor and during competitions.

Distinguished Service Medal: First Liberty Institute

Patriot Awards: Hon. Timothy K. Moore, Johnie E. Webb Jr., Chip Ganassi Racing

James V. Day “Good Guy” Award: Bobby Richardson Jr.

National Concert Band Contest: Joliet (Ill.) American Legion Band

National Color Guard Contests:

Advancing/Retrieving Colors: Newport Harbor Post 291, Newport Beach, Calif., 94.6

Military: Newport Harbor, 90.6

Military Open: Dorie Miller Post 331, Orlando, 82.05

NJROTC Open (with associated Legion post): West Caldwell HS, Lenoir (Post 29), 98.75

Overall Champion: Newport Harbor

National Law Enforcement Officer of the Year: Patrol Officer Audrey Arbuckle, Crete, Neb.

National Firefighter of the Year: Firefighter John DeBisschop III, Naugatuck, Conn.

Fourth Estate Awards:

Broadcast: ABC Action News (WFTS-TV) I-Team, Tampa, Fla./Adam Walser

Print: Military Times/Leo Shane

Spirit of Service Awards:

Air Force Staff Sgt. Joseph M. Allen

Space Force Spc. 3 Tyler J. Baker

Marine Corps Sgt. Nhatalyne Bordes

Army Sgt. Christopher Irvine

Coast Guard Petty Officer 3rd Class Ryan Knick

Air National Guard Staff Sgt. Dhruva S. Poluru

Navy Hospital Corpsman 2nd Class Justin D. Santoyo

National Recruiter of the Year: Patricia E. Liddell, Midland, Ga.

District Commander Race to the Top Award:

Hector Rodriguez (Puerto Rico) – Category 1, District 2

Casey R. Nash (Georgia) – Category 2, District 1

Joyce A. Hannum (Ohio) – Category 3, District 9

Billy J. Hill (Maryland) – Category 4, District 3

100% Department Awards: Puerto Rico, Mexico

Gen. Henri Gouraud Trophy: Department of Puerto Rico

Department Commanders of the Year: Carmen I. Rosario, Department of Puerto Rico; Peter P. Cruz, Department of Mexico

Culture of Growth Department Award: Puerto Rico, Mexico, Alabama, Tennessee

Second Century All-Time High Department Award: Alaska, Mexico

All Target Dates Department Award: Puerto Rico, Mexico

Henry D. Lindsley Trophy: Department of Puerto Rico

Jerry L. Hedrick Membership Award: Department of Puerto Rico

O.L. Bodenhamer Trophy: Department of Puerto Rico

Consolidated Post Reporting Department Award: Delaware, Idaho, Indiana, Maryland, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico

Disabled Veterans Outreach Program Employee of the Year: Kelly Norris, Garland, Texas

Veterans Employment Awards:

Akima Technologies, Fort Cavazos, Texas, large category

Texas Veteran Security, San Antonio, medium category

TangoAlpha3, Austin, Texas, small category

Outstanding Employment Service Local Office of the Year: Workforce Solutions, Texas

Outstanding Employer of Enhancing the Lives of Disabled Persons: PRIDE Industries, Roseville, Calif.

100 Percent Americanism Award: Fox Sports

Daniel J. O’Connor Americanism Trophy: Department of Virginia

Ralph T. O’Neil Trophy: Department of Tennessee

Frank N. Belgrano Jr. Trophy: Department of Missouri

Child Welfare Foundation (CWF) Garland Murphy Award: Department of Maryland

CWF Udie Grant Legacy Award: Department of Florida

CWF Meritorious Achievement Award: Department of Washington

CWF Excellence Award: Department of Washington

CWF Garland Murphy Award – Riders: Department of Florida

CWF Udie Grant Legacy Award – Riders: Department of Florida

William F. Lenker National Service Trophy: Department of Florida

Educator of the Year Award: Civil Air Patrol