2019 history contest winners announced
National Historian James Mariner gives his report to the American Legion National Executive Committee at National Headquarters in Indianapolis on Oct. 16. Photo by Ryan Young/The American Legion

2019 history contest winners announced

During his speech to the National Executive Committee during Fall Meetings on Oct. 16, American Legion National Historian James Mariner announced the winners of the 2019 national history contests, judged by members of the National Association of Department Historians of The American Legion (NADHAL).

One-Year Department Narrative History Contest:

First award: Department of North Carolina

Second award: Department of Indiana

One-Year Department Yearbook History Contest:

First award: Department of Missouri

Second award: Department of Nebraska

Third award: Department of Georgia

Certificate of Participation:

Department of North Carolina

Department of Colorado

Department of Wisconsin

Department of Ohio

Department of West Virginia

Department of New York

One-Year Post Narrative History Contest:

First award: Carroll Post 143, Carrollton, Ga.

Second award: CSM Gary W. Crisp Post 289, Clarksville, Tenn.

Third award: Pony Express Post 359, St. Joseph, Mo.

Certificate of Participation:

Missing Man Post 667, Universal City, Texas

Harold A. Todd Jr. Wisconsin Motor Post 537, Milwaukee, Wis.

Adams, Hanna, Moore Memorial Post 156, Ellicott City, Md.

Oregon Post 67, Ontario, Ore.

Frank B. Bartlett Post 7, Buckhannon, W.Va.

American Legion Post 250, Middleburg, Fla.

One-Year Post Yearbook History Contest:

First award: Julius L. Shryer American Legion Post 430, Durant, Iowa

Second award: Codington County Post 17, Watertown, S.D., and Brunswick Post 9, Brunswick, Ga.

Third award: Frierson-Nichols Post 8, Winter Haven, Fla.

Certificate of Participation:

Park Post 23, Livingston, Mont.

Bates-O’Brien-Howe-Wiegel-Roelli Post 214, Darlington, Wis.

Warren F. Hoyle Post 82, Shelby, N.C.

Martin Wallberg Post 3, Westfield, N.J.

Harry White Wilmer Post 82, La Plata, Md.

Harry Higgins Post 88, Ashland, Ohio

Blackwell-Frazier Post 142, Hominy, Okla.

Elmont Post 1033, Elmont, N.Y.

Canby Post 122, Canby, Ore.

Women Veterans of Southwest Missouri Post 1214, Springfield, Mo.

Milton Post 139, Milton, W.Va.

Horry County Post 111, Conway, S.C.

H. U. Wood Post 245, Seguin, Texas

Scotts Hill Post 243, Regan, Tenn.

Alley-White Post 52, Mountain Home, Ark.

Charles S. Hatch Post 79, Berwick, Maine

Mariner continued that NADHAL training earlier in the week included a number of new department historians, and the organization’s meeting featured an Auxiliary historian observer; the American Legion Auxiliary is preparing for their 100th centennial celebration. Robin Shingleton was elected NADHAL president.