Departments certify winners for National Oratorical Contest

Departments certify winners for National Oratorical Contest

Nearly 50 high school students will gather in Indianapolis April 22-23 to speak on the U.S. Constitution for The American Legion’s National Oratorical Contest and compete for over $203,000 in scholarships. The competitors won their respective American Legion post, district and state-level oratorical contests to earn a spot at the national level.

The National Oratorical Contest is held at the Wyndham Indianapolis West Hotel where the 49 orators will compete in the quarterfinals. They will present a rehearsed eight- to 10-minute oration on an aspect of the Constitution in front of judges, as well as a three- to five-minute speech on an assigned topic discourse. The top nine contestants will advance to the semifinals. After again presenting their prepared oration and assigned topic, the top three semifinal contestants will advance to the championship finals.

The championship finals will be held Sunday, April 23 at 10 a.m. EDT, and will be streamed on Facebook Live at The top three finalists will compete for $67,500 in scholarships –first place receives $25,000; second place $22,500; and third place $20,000.

Each department (state) winner who participates in the quarterfinal first round receives a $2,000 scholarship. Those who advance to the semifinal round receive an additional $2,000 scholarship.

2023 department oratorical winners

Alabama: Christine Johnson

Alaska: Madisen Lundamo

Arizona: Caleb Rasor

Arkansas: Alexis Childs

California: Mahee Haswani

Colorado: Mae Webster

Connecticut: Venice Montanaro

Delaware: Alexander Budd

Florida: Nurfat Ishaque

France: Kennedy Lange

Georgia: Andrew Fleming

Hawaii: Lehua Norris

Idaho: Bridger Benson

Illinois: April Zhang

Indiana: Haley Bock

Iowa: Thanvee Paga

Kansas: Ian Fahncke

Kentucky: India Young

Louisiana: Hailey Wolff

Maine: Shawn Jiminez

Maryland: Diya Jha

Massachusetts: Samuel Gonser

Michigan: Andrew Kil

Minnesota: Megan Blonigen

Mississippi: Jonathan Baker

Missouri: Jana Rawashdeh

Montana: Ella Pheifer

Nebraska: Mary Worthing

Nevada: Abigail Cook

New Hampshire: Emily Aloise

New Jersey: Benjamin Duvelson

New Mexico: Zia Miller

New York: Ian Chung

North Carolina: Paige Greene

NorthDakota: Casey Kruger

Ohio: Guhan Krishnan

Oklahoma: Jesse LaBahn

Oregon: Hannah Hurty

Pennsylvania: Amelia Summers

South Carolina: Henry Overbay

South Dakota: Elena Andrews

Tennessee: Abigail Whicker

Texas: Max Kinser

Utah: Jocelyn Brown

Vermont: Jeswin Antony

Virginia: Trenton McMillen

Washington: Emma Lo

Wisconsin: Mya Koffie

Wyoming: Emma Johnson