2009 Samsung Scholars selected

The Samsung National Selection Committee has named 11 students as 2009 Samsung American Legion Scholars. Each will be awarded a $20,000 scholarship for undergraduate studies.

In 1996, electronics giant Samsung endowed a scholarship fund of $5 million to be administered by The American Legion, to show appreciation for the sacrifices of U.S. troops during the Korean War. Since then, the fund has blossomed, creating the largest college scholarships the Legion gives out.

The Samsung American Legion Scholarship Program awards college scholarships to high school juniors who complete a Boys State or Girls State program, and are direct descendants (or legally adopted children) of a wartime veterans who are eligible for American Legion membership. Winners are selected according to academic record, involvement in school and community activities, community service and financial need. Applicants who are direct descendants of Korean War veterans receive special consideration.

This year’s scholarship winners are:Nathan K. Mickinac – New Manchester, W.VaBrett R. Ubl – New Ulm, Minn. Shanna Myers – Eugene, Ore. Kendra Hertz – Billings, Mont. Parry J. Draper – Mascoutah, Ill. Robert J. Seigfried – Mexico, Miss. Colby M. Tharpe – Hodges, S. C. Luke Sundquist – Bridgewater, Va.Julie Micalizzi – Colorado Springs, Colo.Megan R. Newman – Star City, Ind. John B. Harringa – Hanlontown, Iowa