10 students receive Samsung Scholarship

10 students receive Samsung Scholarship

The American Legion National Committee on Education recently selected 10 students for the 2010 Samsung American Legion Scholarship. Each student will receive a $20,000 scholarship for undergraduate studies.

The Samsung American Legion Scholarship is available to high school juniors who participate in and complete the Boys State or Girls State programs and are direct descendants (or legally adopted children) of wartime veterans eligible for American Legion membership. Students who qualify for and are interested in the Samsung Scholarship must submit a completed application to program staff upon their arrival to Boys State or Girls State. Recipients of the scholarship must use the funds for undergraduate studies (e.g.,room and board, tuition and books), and each applicant is selected according to his or her school and community activities, academic record and financial need.

To date, the scholarship has awarded more than $4 million to nearly 1,400 applicants, making it the largest college scholarship the Legion awards.

The 2010 Samsung Scholars are:

Mary Asma - Belgium, Wisc.; Cedar Grove-Belgium High School

Molly Cain - Seaford, Del.; Seaford High School

Spencer Farley - Lincoln, Neb.; Lincoln Lutheran High School

Joshua Foerst - Streetsboro, Ohio; Streetsboro High School

Samantha Lessen - Alexandria, La.; Holy Savior Menard High School

Adam Logeman - St. Cloud, Minn.; Apollo High School

Derik Russell - Waverly, Mo.; Santa Fe High School

Sean Stanko - Chula Vista, Calif.; Eastlake High School

Zachary Tally - Spartanburg, S.C.; Boiling Springs High School

Sarah Vogel - Livonia, N.Y.; Livonia Central School