Award presented to departments for supporting Boy Scouts
Joshua Bessex/The American Legion

Award presented to departments for supporting Boy Scouts

Since 1936, The American Legion National Americanism Commission has annually presented the Frank N. Belgrano Jr. Trophy to departments that have rendered the most outstanding support for Scouting. This period of support is from Aug. 1, 2019-Aug. 1, 2020.

The award honors 1934-1935 Past National Commander Frank N. Belgrano Jr. of California. The award is based on the number of troops organized, strength of existing troops and general welfare of the Scout movement under American Legion sponsorship within the department, based on written reports with substantiating evidence submitted to National Headquarters.

Departments who want to be considered for the award are required to submit a report with a narrative description of their department's efforts and accomplishments for the period Aug. 1, 2019, through Aug. 1, 2020. The design and length of the narrative is your decision; however, the selection committee wants to see something other than statistical information to consider when they determine the winner.

Reports and narratives must be received by Aug. 7.

Submit material by mail or email:

The American Legion

Attn: Americanism Division-Scouting

P.O. Box 1055

Indianapolis, IN 46206