Legion air rifle championship underway Thursday
Photo by Rachel Woolf/The American Legion

Legion air rifle championship underway Thursday

The American Legion’s 32nd Junior 3-Position Air Rifle Championship gets underway July 20 in Colorado Springs, Colo., at the Olympic Training Center, where 30 youth marksmen from across the country will compete. 

The top 15 competitors in precision and top 15 in sporter category will shoot a .177 caliber air rifle in three positions – prone, standing and kneeling – inside the USA Shooting Range. The top eight competitors in both categories will be finalized July 21 and advance to the championship round July 22.

The championship round starts at 9 a.m. Mountain Time. The finalists will each shoot 10 shots in standing position. The competitor in both the precision and sporter category with the highest aggregated score since competition began will be named the champions.

Watch round-by-round live scoring through CMP

The top competitor from each respective category will receive a $5,000 scholarship provided by The American Legion and Sons of The American Legion. A $1,000 scholarship, provided by the American Legion Auxiliary, will be awarded to the second-place finishers in each category. The precision and sporter champions will receive a trip to The American Legion’s 104th National Convention in Charlotte, N.C., in August to be honored alongside other American Legion youth program champions. 

The top 15 precision competitors are:

1.     Jacob Wisman of Independence, W.Va

2.     Carley Seabrooke of Helena, Al.

3.     Jack Ogoreuc of Groce City, Pa.

4.     Katlyn Sullivan of Statesboro, Ga.

5.     Mackenzie Pruden of Fulshear, Texas

6.     Maddy Moyer of Dawsonville, Ga.

7.     Gracie Dinh of Huntsville, Ark.

8.     Megan Jaros of Roseville, Minn.

9.     Caroline Martin of Nemo, Texas

10.  Ainsley McFarland of Billings, Mont.

11.  Griffin Lake of Emmaus, Pa.

12.  Claudia Muzik of Green Springs, Ohio

13.  Bremen Butler of Fort Wayne, Ind.

14.  Kameron Wells of Granbury, Texas

15.  Katrina Demerle of Hamilton, Ohio

The top 15 sporter competitors are:

1.      Naya Talarico of Bozeman, Mont.

2.      Nathan Krokstrom of Cape Coral, Fla.

3.      Kaitlyn Hawk of North Pole, Alaska

4.      Kees Vandergriff of Fort Mill, S.C.

5.      Ashley Carr of Alliance, Neb.

6.      Lizzea Wright of Des Moines, Iowa

7.      Hope Dobek of Des Moines, Iowa

8.      Rylie Stoeser of Ft. Pierre, S.D.

10.   Abril DeCastro of Fort Mill, S.C.

11.   Magali DelaRosa Cuenca of Middletown, N.Y.

9.    Jennifer Zermeno of Fort Mill, S.C.

12.   Abigail Manson of Freeport, Ill.

13.   Charlie Bratton of Clover, S.C.

14.   Marisa McDonough of Stafford, Va.

15. Logan Major of Stafford, Va.