Shop Online at Emblem Sales
Google +LinkedInPinterestYouTubeInstagramTwitterFacebook

The Fourth Estate Award

The Fourth Estate Award is presented annually by The American Legion to a publication, broadcast organization and online (Internet-based) media for outstanding achievement in the field of journalism. A $2,000 stipend accompanies each award, to defray expenses of the recipients accepting the award at The American Legion National Convention in August. Individual award pylons are presented to the principal contributors, in addition to a large organizational award.

There is no entry fee
Submit Fourth Estate Award entries to:

The American Legion
Media & Communications
Attn: John Raughter
700 N. Pennsylvania St.
Indianapolis, IN 46204

The Deadline

The deadline for entry is March 23, 2015.

The Judges

All entries will be judged by members of The American Legion Media & Communications Commission. All entries become the property of The American Legion. Non-winning entries will be discarded unless specific return instructions have been provided.

Conditions for Judging

Entries must have been published or broadcast during the calendar year immediately preceding the date the award is given.

Subject matter must deal with a topic or issue of national interest or concern; submissions must include documented evidence or a statement from the entrant describing how the work brought about change for the better or had a positive, measurable societal impact. Each entry must include a cover letter explaining the entry. Click here for submission form to accompany each entry.

Originals must be submitted for all print entries. Audio CD for radio entries and DVD, Betacam SP or digital format for television entries are required. Internet media products should include print pages of applicable sites as well as the URLs. Individuals, publications, and broadcast organizations may submit as many entries as they like, but each entry must be accompanied by its own cover letter on company letterhead with the signature of the submitting authority, the submission form and any supporting documentation.

Notification of Winners

Winners will be notified directly and a press release announcing the winners will be posted on the Legion’s national website.

Accepting the Fourth Estate Award

The winning individual, or an appropriate substitute, will be required to attend The American Legion National Convention for the purpose of the award presentation.

Previous Winners

The Fourth Estate Award has been given annually by The American Legion since 1958.

  • 1958 Jim Lucas
  • 1959* Advertising Council, Inc.
  • 1959* Chicago Tribune
  • 1959* U.S. News and World Report
  • 1960* Hearst Newspaper
  • 1961 Scripps-Howard Newspapers
  • 1961 Jack K. Warner, Pres., Warner Brothers Pictures
  • 1962 Fulton Lewis, Jr.
  • 1963 The Copley Press, Inc.
  • 1963 This Week Magazine
  • 1964 The Chicago Tribune
  • 1964 Mississippi Publishers Corp.
  • 1965 Clark Mollenhoff, Cowles Publications
  • 1965 Paul Harvey, American Broadcasting Company
  • 1965 Golden West Broadcasters
  • 1966 Mutual Broadcasting System
  • 1966 The Booth Newspapers
  • 1966 The Columbus Dispatch
  • 1967 The St. Louis Globe-Democrat
  • 1968 William S. White, United Features Syndicate, Inc.
  • 1969 George W. Healy, Jr., The New Orleans
    Times/Picayune and State
  • 1970 James Geddes Stahlman
  • 1970 Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Editor/Publisher, Tribune, Tulsa, OK
  • 1971 Anheuser Busch, Inc.
  • 1971 John Wayne
  • 1972 Agustine Edwards, Publisher,
    El Mercurio, Santiago, Chile
  • 1973 Clare Booth Luce
  • 1974 James J. Kilpatrick, Jr.
  • 1975 Jim Bishop
  • 1976 Thomas P. Chisman, Producer – Bicentennial
    Radio Network and Vic Cantone, Cartoonist
  • 1977 The Columbus Dispatch, Editor Jess
    Gorkin, Parade Magazine
  • 1978 Milton Caniff, Cartoonist, King Feature Syndicate
  • 1979 National Public Radio
  • 1980 Hy Rosen, Editorial Cartoonist, Albany Times Union
  • 1981 ABC News
  • 1982 Newsweek magazine
  • 1983 The Sacramento Union
  • 1984 C-SPAN
  • 1985 Life magazine
  • 1986 KMOX Radio, St. Louis
  • 1987 ABC Radio News
  • 1988 Bill Cox/Florida Today
  • 1989 Mary Beth Pheiffer/The Poughkeepsie Journal
  • 1990 Margaretta A. Downey/The Poughkeepsie Journal
  • 1991 Michael Trihey, Tamara Welch /
    The Bakersfield Californian
  • 1992 Philip Dine/St. Louis Post-Dispatch
  • 1993 Fortune magazine
  • 1994 KSNW-TV, Wichita, Kansas
  • 1995 Marcia Stepanek, Charles J. Lewis /
    Hearst Newspapers Washington
    Bureau / Albany Times Union
  • 1996 High Road Productions, Palo Alto, California
  • 1997 Tribune Chronicle, Warren, Ohio
  • 1998 The Tribune, Mesa, Arizona
  • 1999 Jerry Mitchell, The Clarion-Ledger, Jackson, Miss.
  • 2000 Dateline NBC, Washington, DC
  • 2001 Chronicle-Tribune, Marion, Indiana
  • 2002 Dayton Daily News. Dayton, Ohio
  • 2003 The Detroit News. Detroit, Michigan
  • 2004 Mark Benjamin, United Press International
  • 2005 Laurie Stein, WFOR-TV, Miami, FL
  • 2006 Ben Jones & Jamie Mara, The
    Post-Crescent, Appleton, WI
  • 2007 News Channel 5, Nashville, Tenn.
  • 2008 KRIV, Fox 26 News, Houston, TX
  • 2009 USA TODAY, McLean, VA
  • 2010 The American Bar Association Journal
  • 2011 Indianapolis Star - Dawn Mitchell - Internet
  • 2011 Pittsburgh Tribune - Review -
    David Conti - Metro Editor - Newspaper
  • 2011 WTVF-TV NewsChannel5 – Jennifer Krause,
    Bryan Staples & Kevin Wisniewski- Broadcast
  • 2012 Print: Pittsburgh Tribune-Review, Carl Prine
  • 2012 Broadcast: KLRT-TV (Little Rock, Ark.), Donna Terrell
  • 2012 New Media: Alex Quade, freelance for The Daily Caller
  • 2013 Associated Press- Las Vegas Bureau –Alison Young, Reporter – Print
  • 2013 Freelance War Reporter, Alex Quade – Internet
  • 2013 KITV-Sprinkle Media Solutions, Pamela Young, Reporter – Honolulu, HI- Broadcast
  • 2014 Washington Examiner, Mark Flatten, Senior Investigative Reporter, Washington, DC- Internet/Online
  • 2014 The Daily News, Thomas Brennan, Investigative Reporter, Jacksonville, NC – Newspaper
  • 2014 WRC-TV, Tisha Thompson, Investigative Reporter; Rick Yarborough, Investigative Producer; Jeff Piper, Investigative Photojournalist - Broadcast

Contact Information

For more information about this event:

Call The American Legion Media & Communications Division at (317) 630-1253, or send us an email.