Texas Rangers shortstop Corey Seager named 2023 Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year

Texas Rangers shortstop Corey Seager named 2023 Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year

Texas Rangers shortstop Corey Seager has been selected as the 2023 American Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year. Seager played Legion Baseball for Post 115 in Kannapolis, N.C.

Scheduling of the official award presentation is still in the works.

Seager is a three-time All-Star who in 2020 became just the eighth player — and third American Legion Baseball alumnus — to earn League Championship Series and World Series MVP honors in the same season when he helped lead the Los Angeles Dodgers to the seventh title in franchise history and first since 1988.

In the 2020 NLCS, Seager set series records with five home runs and 11 RBIs as the Dodgers rallied from a 3-1 deficit to defeat the Atlanta Braves. Seager then hit .400 with two home runs, five RBIs and seven runs scored as Los Angeles beat Tampa Bay in six games in the World Series.

In December 2021, after seven seasons with the Dodgers, Seager signed a 10-year, $325 million contract with the Texas Rangers — the largest contract in franchise history. He hit a career-high 33 home runs — albeit with a career-low .245 batting average — in his first season with the Rangers.

In addition to his postseason and All-Star honors, Seager has been National League Rookie of the Year, a two-time Silver Slugger Award winner and All-MLB Second Team.

About the American Legion Baseball Graduate of the Year Award

Each year The American Legion honors a former American Legion Baseball player who is currently playing in the Major Leagues for his character, leadership, playing abilities and community service. Individuals are recommended by their respective post.

Recipients of the award:

2023: Corey Seager (Post 115, Kannapolis, N.C.)

2022: Brandon Woodruff (Post 49, Tupelo, Miss.)

2021: Jacob deGrom (Post 3, Deland, Fla.)

2020: no award

2019: Neil Walker (Post 548, Gibsonia, Pa.)

2018: Brian Duensing (Post 374, Omaha, Neb.)

2017: Brian Dozier (Post 49, Tupelo, Miss.)

2016: Cliff Lee (Benton, Ark.)

2015: Alex Gordon (Post 3, Lincoln, Neb.)

2014: Michael Cuddyer (Post 280, Chesapeake, Va.)

2013: Chad Billingsley (Post 300, Napoleon, Ohio)

2012: Mark Ellis (Post 22, Rapid City, S.D.)

2011: Corey Hart (Kentucky)

2010: Brandon Inge (Lynchburg, Va.)

2009: Lyle Overbay (Post 15, Centralia, Wash.)

2008: Justin Verlander (Post 201, Powhatan, Va.)

2007: Chris Carpenter (Post 79, Manchester, N.H.)

2006: Albert Pujols (Post 340, Independence, Mo.)

2005: Scott Rolen (Jasper, Ind.)

2004: Darin Erstad (Jamestown, N.D.)

2003: Jeff Bagwell (Post 75, Middletown, Conn.)

2002: Luis Gonzalez (Post 248, Tampa, Fla.)

2001: Todd Stottlemyre (Washington)

2000: Chipper Jones (Post 6, Deland, Fla.)

1999: Steve Finley (Post 31, Paducah, Ky.)

1998: Tony Gwynn (Post 27, Long Beach, Calif.)

1997: Mo Vaughn (Norwalk, Conn.)

1996: Paul Molitor (Post 606, St. Paul, Minn.)

1995: Bob Tewksbury (New Hampshire)

1994: Greg Maddux (Post 8, Las Vegas, Nev.)

1993: Bill Swift (Portland, Maine)

1992: Terry Steinbach (Post 132, New Ulm, Minn.)

1991: Sid Bream (Carlisle, Pa.)

1990: Harold Reynolds (Post 11, Corvallis, Ore.)

1989: Alan Trammell (San Diego, Calif.)

1988: Roger Clemens (Spring Woods, Ohio)

1987: Don Mattingly (Evansville, Ind.)

1986: Dale Murphy (Portland, Ore.)

1985: Jeff Reardon (Dalton, Mass.)

1984: Ryne Sandberg (Spokane, Wash.)

1983: Andre Thornton (Phoenixville, Pa.)

1982: Jim Sundberg (Galesburg, Ill.)

1981: Gary Carter (Fullerton, Calif.)

1980: George Brett (El Segundo, Calif.)

1979: Mike Flanagan (Post 2, Manchester, N.H.)

1978: Ron Guidry (Lafayette, La.)

1977: Dave Winfield (Post 606, St. Paul, Minn.)

1976: Rick Monday (Post 123, Santa Monica, Calif.)

1975: Carlton Fisk (Post 37, Bellows Falls, Vt.)

1974: Wilbur Wood (Post 99, Watertown, Mass.)

1973: Johnny Bench (Anadarko, Okla.)

1972: Al Kaline (Baltimore, Md.)

1971: Steve Carlton (Miami, Fla.)

1970: Dave McNally (Post 4, Billings, Mont.)

1969: Harmon Killebrew (Payette, Idaho)

1968: Mickey Lolich (Post 102, Portland, Ore.)

1967: Carl Yastrzemski (Bridgehampton, N.Y.)

1966: Frank Robinson (Post 237, Pleasanton, Calif.)

1965: Eddie Fisher (Oklahoma)

1964: Brooks Robinson (Post 1, North Little Rock, Ark.)

1963: Warren Spahn (Buffalo, N.Y.)

1962: Bobby Richardson (Sumter, S.C.)

1961: Stan Musial (Donora, Pa.)

1960: Ted Williams (San Diego, Calif.)

1958: Sherm Lollar (Arkansas)


American Legion Baseball

American Legion Baseball

American Legion Baseball enjoys a reputation as one of the most successful and tradition-rich amateur athletic leagues. Today, the program registers more than 5,400 teams in all 50 states, including Canada and Puerto Rico.

Learn more